Tell Us Your IF

Look about and see if you can find “IF.” Tell me your IF Ghaythaa.
Mami ,

image-1-768x480

IF

Imagine ! Everything begins within our minds stories , inventions , peace and even wars .It is all about our ideas nothing is certain 100% everything swinging between YES /NO and other unknown answers . All complicated or simple thoughts that led to great or unknown accomplishments begin with assumption . It is the word ‘IF‘ that opens the doors to unlimited possibilities in literature and in our real life to create and recreate the world we are living in .

As a matter of fact ; the word ‘IF’ used widely in literature for the varied connotations that it could invoke in reader’s mind . Poetry , fiction , nonfiction and drama are rich of hypothesis , suppositions , doubt , improbable situations and possibilities ‘IF’ can be used in all of these situations and even more than that . ‘IF’ overlooks your life and gives you sometimes an advice or the choice “to be or not to be ” like in kipling’s poem IF
“If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,
Or walk with Kings—nor lose the common touch,
If neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you,
If all men count with you, but none too much;
If you can fill the unforgiving minute
With sixty seconds’ worth of distance run,
Yours is the Earth and everything that’s in it,
And—which is more—you’ll be a Man, my son!”
That is to say ‘IF’ connotation isn’t restricted to literature , it also shapes our real life .

Therefore ; the magical word ‘IF’ and it’s grammatical rules are simply a reflection of the real life . For example , the sentence ( I will be the first if I work hard .) defined in grammar as follows “an action in the future can only happen if a certain condition is fulfilled by that time ” . Another example ( If I knocked the door , she would opened it .) and the grammar states that ” the condition can’t be fulfilled any longer , because it should have been happened in the past but it didn’t ” . The grammar rules of ‘IF’ imitate the real life and proves that “life is full of IF’s ” . We regret things that we did do or we didn’t do but life is not going to take you back so ‘IF’ enable us to foresee the future from the today’s widow to decide which will be our past . Thus , you can start with if but don’t end with it . In grammar rules and in real life our actions make our dreams come true and make the conditional IF fulfilled or unfulfilled .

All in all , If gives us the ability to regret , imagine , foresee the future , put hypothesis and endless possibilities in literature and in real life IF recreate the world with the power of a word .

By Ghaythaa Deeb , Syria .

65 thoughts on “Tell Us Your IF

  1. Imagine ! Everything begins within our minds stories , inventions , peace and even wars .It is all about our ideas nothing is certain 100% everything swinging between YES /NO and other unknown answers . All complicated or simple thoughts that led to great or unknown accomplishments begin with assumption . It is the word ‘IF‘ that opens the doors to unlimited possibilities in literature and in our real life to create and recreate the world we are living in .

    As a matter of fact ; the word ‘IF’ used widely in literature for the varied connotations that it could invoke in reader’s mind . Poetry , fiction , nonfiction and drama are rich of hypothesis , suppositions , doubt , improbable situations and possibilities ‘IF’ can be used in all of these situations and even more than that . ‘IF’ overlooks your life and gives you sometimes an advice or the choice “to be or not to be ” like in kipling’s poem IF
    “If you can talk with crowds and keep your virtue,
    Or walk with Kings—nor lose the common touch,
    If neither foes nor loving friends can hurt you,
    If all men count with you, but none too much;
    If you can fill the unforgiving minute
    With sixty seconds’ worth of distance run,
    Yours is the Earth and everything that’s in it,
    And—which is more—you’ll be a Man, my son!”
    That is to say ‘IF’ connotation isn’t restricted to literature , it also shapes our real life .

    Therefore ; the magical word ‘IF’ and it’s grammatical rules are simply a reflection of the real life . For example , the sentence ( I will be the first if I work hard .) defined in grammar as follows “an action in the future can only happen if a certain condition is fulfilled by that time ” . Another example ( If I knocked the door , she would opened it .) and the grammar states that ” the condition can’t be fulfilled any longer , because it should have been happened in the past but it didn’t ” . The grammar rules of ‘IF’ imitate the real life and proves that “life is full of IF’s ” . We regret things that we did do or we didn’t do but life is not going to take you back so ‘IF’ enable us to foresee the future from the today’s widow to decide which will be our past . Thus , you can start with if but don’t end with it . In grammar rules and in real life our actions make our dreams come true and make the conditional IF fulfilled or unfulfilled .

    All in all , If gives us the ability to regret , imagine , foresee the future , put hypothesis and endless possibilities in literature and in real life IF recreate the world with the power of word .

    Ghaythaa Deeb
    Syria .

    Like

      • You name ” IF ” the magical word. I quite agree with you. We say to ourselves,” If peace were to come, I would be very happy. ” We make every effort to accomplish the aim. At first, it is absolutely impossible, but in course of time, there will be a bit of hope appearing ahead.
        The impossible will become the possible in future.

        Like

      • Thank you for visiting this site, Prof. Kuramochi! We believe we can realize our ‘IF’ step by step. 🙂

        Like

      • Many thanks for passing by Prof.kuramochi 🙂
        it’s we who decide how this IF will help or stumble us … As you have said hope helps us and gives us the “spiritual power ” to work hard and achieve our goal . We are survivors because we believed and worked to make our dreams/ IFs come true .

        Like

      • You write IF may “stumble” us. It is an intersting viewpoint. Every thing may stumble us.
        We take care so that we may not stumble on something. It is then that wisdom comes to us.
        We will be the wiser.

        Like

  2. I recently went to Abu Dhabi for a business trip, and had a really good time there.
    I miss Abu Dhabi…
    If I had time and money, I would fly to Abu Dhabi even To-morrow!

    こんな感じ? 

    If I were a bird I would fly to you

    って、今の教科書じゃどんな例文なのかしら^^。

    Naomi
    Japan

    Like

  3. If I had been able to get a satisfactory result in the entrance examination in1986, how many people, including my children, would I have missed?

    人生とは不思議なものです

    Kiyokazu
    Japan

    Like

  4. If this were the last moment of your life, how woud you see what you are seeing now? What if that last moment was a part of continuous ‘now’ would you have seen what you’ve seen? Why can’t we see things ‘now’ as if it were the last ?

    Like

    • You inspired me with endless possibilities and ideas … wonder and curiosity are the essence of our existence as human beings aren’t they ! our astonishment for a discovery , an idea or just a little simple thought we come up with … is exactly where the happiness lies .

      Like

    • Us humans, we have our instinct of survival, consciousness, and we continue to convince ourselves that everything good WILL happen to us, we love to know the mystery of the unknown future, this is our way to manage our emotional stress in this modern world, unless we are struck with a fact that will change this way of thinking and makes us realize our “now “ 

      Like

  5. What’s my if? My possibility? Myself that I didn’t choose in the past?
    If if is my possibility, it’s easy. I can try hard to realize it.
    However, if it’s the latter, I can’t even apologize him. Me here and
    now is due to his absolute absence. He is my shadow. In the sunlight
    early morning, my shadow is longer than in the daylight. So every day I walk towards the sun not to see him. Please say hello to him. 🙂

    内容もさることながら、ひどい英語なんだろうな。恥ずかしい。

    Ryohei, Kawasaki, Japan.

    Like

  6. If I had determined to go to a university in the United States, I would work abroad now…

    いざ海外で暮らしてみると、別の人生も見えてきたりします…。日本も大好きですが。

    RITSUKO in Canada

    Like

  7. Morning from Japan.
    You are really a talented person so I believe your life will be a successful. Go ahead with your plan! 🙂

    Like

    • ありがとうございます! 今の私にとっては、日本で今の仕事を続けることが幸せなのですが、カナダでは、私が思っていた以上に現地の大学を卒業してそのまま現地に就職する留学生の数が多いことにびっくりしています。アメリカ留学を夢見ていた大学時代、もし留学していたら、違う人生もあったのか、と気づかされました。
      RITSUKO in CANADA

      Like

  8. たしかに。わたしはここにきて(おそろしい)変化が… Exactly. Ritsuko you know my life has changed dramatically haha

    (Ghaythaa, Ritsuko says she’s happy to continue her work in Japan, but if she had studied in US in her college days, she would live quite a different live. 🙂 She also says she surprises that many overseas students in Canadian universities remain and work in Canada, not in their own countries. In Japan most students who want to study abroad use exchange program and they usually come back to Japan and take a job.)

    Like

    • Hi Mami & Ritsuko 🙂
      I think one life isn’t enough to accomplish all of our dreams , so Ritsuko don’t regret anything especially if you have done everything that is possible to fulfill your goals . We are where we are and who we are for a reason maybe to convey a certain message in life , we can travel seeking education , knowledge and experience then offer what we have got to the people who really need these things in our societies whether in Japan , Syria o . Whether we could travel or not , what really matters is our ability to give others wherever we are or wherever our knowledge will help others to build a better world 🙂

      Thanks Mami for the translation , language like music connect people 😉

      Like

      • Hello Ghaythaa,

        Thank you for your wonderful reply! Yes, how nice it would be if we all inspired each other
        regardless of where we are 🙂

        Best Regards,
        Ritsuko

        Like

  9. Si tuviera la oportunidad de regresar 10 años atrás, aprovecharía y valoraría muchísimo el tiempo, siento que he como todo algunos errores en mi vida, pero con una oportunidad como está los podía recompensar. Si tan solo pudiese retroceder el tiempo…

    Like

  10. If I had not come across the following motto, my life would have been and would be miserable: Think globaly, Act locally.
    Just after the big earthquake and Tunami and the nuclear plant accident in Fukushima, I somehow began volunteer work and knew the pleasure of working for others. But when I think of all the problems plaguing the world, I always think of how small I am. Still, when I remember the motto, I, strangely enough, feel relaxed and and satisfied with my very very small things that are within my power.

    To Ms Daniela Ardila: I hope you sometimes write to IF in Spanish. I am learning Spanish and I will translate your message into English if it is not too difficult. (It may takes some time.)
    English is really convenent, but we should not allow it to conquer the world so easily.

    Like

    • Hi Takuro , I like this phrase “Think globally, act locally” it implies that all of us have moral responsibilities towards people around the world and at the same time making our aim & duty towards others who need our help so easy to be reached .What you only have to do is giving your hand to who is standing next to you , to your fellow human being and IF everyone who HAVE give those who NEED then we all will be living the happiness that we’re seeking for 🙂 IF this culture spreads all over the world we’ll of course have a better world .
      As for the languages , you are right we should know and learn as much as we can , but it is not an easy task for everyone 😦 …. but what does really matter whether we know English ,Spanish, Arabic or whatever ; we should take care of our mother tongue languages as our planet full of beautiful colors and languages 🙂

      Like

    • Your motto is inspiring  and I add “think globally, and act wherever you can”, I admire your humanity and I think everyone can contribute to humanity with their own way which I think all admirable, if only most of the people think and act that way, we would have less greed, wars and problems.

      Like

  11. If I have the opportunity to be a child again, I would like to change many decisions and live my life freely 🙂

    Like

  12. Hello, I’m 21 and a university student. I’m sorry for my bad English.

    When I read a book, I always think that if I were the character in the book, I wouldn’t do so or would also, which is interesting to me.

    コメントが勉強になります。

    Like

    • Hi, mogimogi ko. I guess you’re a booklover like me. Yes, I’m always searching for the books which allow me feel emotions of characters as I read. What kind of books do you read? Mystery, adventure, or love stories? Enjoy talking with other visitors. Our site always show a big welcome to you and your friends! 🙂 🙂

      Like

      • ご返信ありがとうございます。
        私は近代文学の恋愛ものや、推理小説を読むのが好きです。
        またのコメントの際はよろしくお願いいたします!

        Thank you for the reply.
        I like to read love stories of modern literature and mystery.
        I beg your kindness when I comment again!

        Like

    • Hello Mogimogi Ko , I’m so happy that you could read our IF’s and comment on it , your English isn’t so bad 🙂
      Reading books enable us from living another lives with different circumstances , personalities/ characters , and possibilities . While reading a book you laugh , maybe cry or wondring about the ambiguty of the world that we are living in … Reading is a gift enjoy it 🙂
      you’re so welcome to express your ideas here at anytime and good luck at your study .

      Like

      • Hi, Ghaythaa, thank you very much for your reply.
        I was also happy when I got your messages 🙂

        I think your writing is beautiful and intellectual!
        Have you been studied literature?

        I am majoring in anthropology at university, and I think that reading good writings is a clue to know what human beings are all about because thinking if I were the characters or the authors of the writings leads us to see the world or the life through their eyes.

        Like

      • Yes you’re right I love to read and learn as much as I can as I’m a very curios to know more and more 🙂 my major was English Literature , it was my choice to study literature and enjoyed it greatly .
        Thanks Mogimogi Ko for your nice words 🙂

        Like

    • Hi mogimogi ko, I am a university student myself  and I totally have the same thinking as you when reading a book, it is what move my imagination and motivate my curiosity, critical way of thinking is the best way to tackle anything we read, hear or see 😉

      Like

      • Hallo, Katia, thank you very much for your replay!
        I am so happy you read my comment.
        I agree with you and I think that reading books is the nature of learning 🙂

        Like

  13. There is a proverb; the early bird catches the worm. This means something good will happen for you if you wake up early, or simply ‘first comes, first served’. But this proverb is able to be written in the following way; the worm is caught by the early bird. If you were on the position of a worm, this situation would be not acceptable to you. It must be quite a tragic event. Do not wake up early!! Last comes, last serving or even not necessary to serve if the bird is full. That is, at the only situation, it will have a different meaning according as the position you stand on.

    Like

    • Hi, Miho. You always make me laugh. Poor worm…yes, that’s right. An English literature professor wrote to an essay for my book: title is “Through the eyes of imagination.” He said we should try to see, through the eyes of imagination, what is normally invisible in our view. Sorry for worms but we human only have imagination! Enjoy living our lives. Yay!

      Like

    • Nicely said Miho, probabilities, circumstances and strategies are as important as timing  maybe this proverb was made to motivate lazy people to wake up early 😀

      Like

  14. If I can exist in a form of the smallest unit like a string, it will be so exciting for me to see the real micro world. All materials consist of strings according to the superstring theory and differences between elemen-tary particles are caused by the way of oscillation of each string. And space is filled with a sort of film of strings. Can you imagine that? In this theory, there are 11 dimensions, and at the present we can recognize 3 dimensions plus time scale (totally 4 dimensions) and other 6 dimensions are compacted. If this theory is true, all smallest elements are the same though all materials look different. Sound so odd, isn’t it!

    Like

    • Hi Miho , I’m glad to have your interesting comments & ideas …
      Hmm ..if we were strings vibrate in different ways and each string has its tone/sound that distinguish it from others , like musical instruments, then we’ll creat a unique orchestra and this orchestra will prove itself by the beauty it spreads in this vast universe before scientists could prove the string theory or the theory of everything 😉

      Like

      • Hello Ghaythaa, you are full of ideas. Thank you for your comment which seems always poetic and enjoyable. Yes, if we play beatiful sounds involuntarily, this world would be more peaceful and people could have consideration for others, which we hope, especially nowadays.

        Like

    • You have touched upon my ultimate interests (astrophysics and quantum mechanics), I would love to be able to see the world as one of the strings of energy, atoms, quarks, or even galaxies, nebula, universe or multiverses. I would love to be able to travel through a black hole or a worm hole traveling through time and space……
      Ghaythaa, yes, science is art as well, you can create your own poems and music 😉

      Like

    • Hallo, Miho.
      Yes, it is strange but interesting.
      I wonder if physicists are always thinking about IF of the world 🙂

      Like

      • Hi, mogimogi ko. Yes, I think so. Physicists seek for “truth” of universe. It will be started from thinking about “if”. Many of worlds or phenomina for them are ones that are supposed to exist in theory and in mathematical formula. These also belong to something like If world for ordinary people, don’t they.

        Like

  15. Pingback: Tell me your imaginary world. – IF

  16. If I had known before the entrance examination who would fail in it, I would have make them study harder. However, I also think what happened to them has some meaning for them. I hope I will hear a lot of happy news from them.

    Like

  17. アーサー・ビナード著『もしも、詩があったら』(光文社)のあとがきの詩から
    Arthur Binard, American poet and essayist lived in Japan, wrote a poem which says if people do not need to sleep (the original is in Japanese). In it continues if so, people would study or work harder and can make remarkable progress in every technology which promotes the efficiency and then develops industries dramatically. But if so, people would work harder and continuously to cut down trees, pollute the seas with radiation, and scatter industrial waste all of which would have already made us sleep forever. It is a poem, which unfortunately I cannot translate as a poem in English. This makes me think of a lot. People as an individual seem to act according to his/her conscience, but why do people as a group or government give priority to economic efficiency more than a real treasure inherited from previous generations of mankind ?

    Like

    • Thanks for your thoughts  In my opinion, everything has two side (good and bad) and the smart move is to turn the balance towards the good, I think sleep is not the problem, it is our use of our wake-up time, IF humans consume their time to improve the reality for themselves and future generations, stop wars and focus on scientific research instead of spending billions on weapons industry and oil hunting,,,,, I think then our world will be a better place to live in and we(or any other living being) and our planet will not be endangered of extinction, global warming, hunger…..etc  there must come a time when majority of humans realize this, and I hope it will be soon 

      Like

  18. My IF…
    In my naive thinking “IF” associate me with english conditional sentences. Conditionals associate me with probability. Probability with character of scientific law (Probability density function, Gaussian distribution and so on) and finally with Quantum Mechanics and other like M-theory – Thus, maybe “IF” is a basic, fundamental aspect of our reality 🙂 The place where think/word/poetry meet substantial things/physics (maybe they are one and the same thing called IF – but this still nothing explains what the World is 🙂 )

    Like

    • I liked this flow of ideas that generated as a reflection of what we see , hear , feel … , we perceive the reality by our senses … we take the reality into our minds to make it untouchable , intangible , something like reality but it isn’t reality … Then we give the world our reality as an invention , a solution for a problem , a story to be read , a movie to be watched a work that build or destroy …. the imaginable becomes tangible , the impossible becomes feasible .. We creat our world by our ideas that comes before words …. in the beginning was the idea .. our idea started with IF to give way to the flow of infinite words that express each one’s ideas

      Like

      • So, I’d like to wish all of us as many “IF” as possible because there are still so many bad things to changes and good things to create and our duty is make world better…

        I conclude from your post that we think through language, right?. So, what do you think, If we didn’t have such sophisticated language structures of representations would we be just another species of apes (and even maybe more happy than now 🙂 )? In genetic sense we are very, very similar to gorillas or champagne – the difference is in the order of 1-2% – If I remember…

        Like

      • who knows Slawek … Maybe in the future we will add chimpanzee laughter to this site 🙂 and make the wish of Prof. Matsuzawa come true
        Slawek please take a look on a summery about Prof. Matsuzawa’s lecture and stroop effect experiment with his partner Ai 🙂
        http://ifbooks.wpblog.jp/2016/03/17/about-prof-tetsuro-matsuzawa/
        Also you may read about Shams and how is the life through his eyes
        http://ifbooks.wpblog.jp/2016/03/14/tell-me-your-imaginary-world/
        as for your question about language hmm…I think language is one of several means that human developed through his evaluation . language could help us to communicate and express our thoughts , it’s kind of a manifestation of culture and adaptation ..

        Like

  19. It was amazing reading all your comments, I enjoyed each one of them, I feel like I am getting broader more global idea about everyone’s way of thinking ( you can know a lot about a person from the way he/she expresses their ideas 😀 )
    To add to your comments, IF, is a word of possibility, probability, of the past, the future, the lingering present, it holds hope, disappointment, organization, order and chaos.
    Statistics and possibilities, with observation and criticism are the backbone of scientific thinking, theories and physics and math laws were made upon these observations and curiosity “What if?!”, experiments (If we did this, the result will be…).
    It is remarkable what you can change with words, you can effect one’s way of thinking, plant an idea or stimulate imagination, for me personally, lots of books that I have read lead me to my critical way of thinking and made me analyze and appreciate life more.
    If is even more powerful when supported with “do”, doing is essential for our ideas, dreams, aims, emotions, hopes….to blossom.
    I have a lot of Ifs and they are continuously increasing in number 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

