Tell us the meaning of your name

Good see you again!

Perhaps IF visitors surprised(and enjoyed) to appear double “Tomoko” on the post. Their names are both “Tomoko”, but if you see their names on papers, they are quite different styles: 友子 and 委子. This writing system is called Kanji, Chinese character.

On the other hand, we can write their names using Hiragana(Katakana), which are a phonetic lettering system. When we use this system, tomoko is just “ともこ”. That means “と=to,” “も=mo,” “こ=ko”.

Parents can choose Kanji name or Hiragana name for their babies freely. When they choose Kanji name, their baby has two writing systems: as for me, 真美 and まみ(Mami).

Each Kanji has its original meanings. Both “Tomoko” were given beautiful Kanji names by their parents. I’m sure they will tell us the meanings of their names soon! 😉

In return, will you tell us the meanings/origins of your names?

Mami , Japan

44 thoughts on “Tell us the meaning of your name

  1. Hej Mami, great topic 🙂
    But what means 真美? Hmm? 😉

    BTW my name Sławomir is derived from the Slavic element slava meaning “glory” combined with meru meaning “great, famous” or miru meaning “peace, world”.

    Peace.

    Like

  2. Hi everyone 🙂 i liked the subject today
    in my country the person has one name and it’s very popular to use nickname to call your close friend with for example my name is Ghydaa and my close friends and also my family members call me Dado 🙂 it’s something friendly
    Ghydaa غيداء ‘ meaning is the beautiful girl
    talking about name and it’s meaning there’s a song by Fairuz ” our names ” in the lyrics “Our eyes are our names ” ” names are just words … what do you think 🙂

    Like

    • Yes, names are just words, but I like to imagine person from their names. Dado, I love the sound of your nickname. It’s lovely and joyful sound for me. 🙂
      BTW I and my husband named our daughter Miku(美久). I gave her 美(means “beauty”) from my name and he gave her 久(means “forever”) from his name, but actually I love the sound of her name… 🙂

      Like

      • Mami you are really a nice person , i love the name of your daughter and the method that you are following in Japan to make up a name I liked her name meaning 🙂 say hi to your daughter for me 🙂

        Like

  3. Hello Mami, you didn’t tell us what does your name mean? 😉
    Slawek, your name meaning combined is “Glory and peace in the world” 😉
    My name is Katia which is short for Katusha, the direct meaning of the name is “Pure, cute girl you would love to take care of. She makes you dream about her” that’s what google said 😀
    It is a Russian name of a girl longing for her absent love. During the world war II, a young woman, Katyusha, sings of her beloved, who is a soldier serving on the border far away.

    I have an asteroid in my name and a rocket launcher !!!!! My father chose my name, I like its rhythm 🙂

    Like

  4. Hi! I get it that all names has meanings which parents desired babies to have glorious, peaceful and beautiful etc. lives. My name Tomoko is “友(tomo) + 子(ko)”, “友” means friend, friendship. My parents named me to be friendly and to have good friends. And adding “子” to the end of name is very popular for our age . My name is easy to pronounce and write, I like it.

    Like

    • It’s an old saying that “Names and natures do often agree” and actually Tomoko makes friends with everybody soon…

      Like

    • Hello friend 🙂 we have a saying that “names reflect their owner’s personality”, friendship is one of the most beautiful relationships 🙂

      Like

  5. My name Tomoaki is written in Kanji as “智照”.
    Tomo means knowledge, and Aki means bright. My parents gave me the name with the hope of Brighten the world with Knowledge. I’m really proud of this name…
    By the way, for generations, my family has the same kanji “照” in their name.

    Like

    • I know I know you’re so brilliant boy…R2D2 :p
      My husband’s family love to use the kanji “久” in their names. 🙂

      Like

    • Now that I understand what your name means, it is more beautiful! I find it really unique how every syllable has a complementary meaning, it gives more freedom and choices for names, right?

      Like

  6. My name ともこ is rather popular name in Japan. In fact, you have two ともこ here. However 委子 seems to be quite unfamiliar name, and most people cannot read that Chinese character 委 as Tomo. I was so often asked how to read it . Some of you might wonder what is the meaning and why my parents chose this name for me. You might be surprised to hear that they just asked a priest to name me! ( It was quite common in Japan some years ago). In Japan, we honor the number of strokes in the letters(Chinese character) used for our names. The number of strokes used in them is supposed to bring good fortune to us. That is why my parents followed the priest’s advice. When I grew up, I looked up the letter in the dictionary, and knew whose meaning is “let it be” or “be flexible”. Anyway, I love it!

    Like

    • Thank you Tomoko for your explanation, but how is it different from Tomoko of Shanon which means friendship? is it different writing?
      I like your name meaning 🙂 you must be expert in adaptation and flexibility 🙂

      Like

  7. wow !! too many meanings for many beautiful names 🙂

    well my name is very simple : in Arabic نور (Noor) is ” The Light ” ,,,, So , turn off you lights .. Nour is in the building !! 🙂 🙂

    Like

    • Maybe is simple but shines brightly 🙂 You reminds me a theory of Beauty one ancient philosopher called Plotyn. In one of his treatise called ennedas he wrote that Beauty is contained in simplicity like shine of stars, lighting or sun 🙂 🙂

      Like

    • Nora!! my husband also has your name “light”, 光. 🙂 🙂

      (Well, Mr. Holmes and Mis Watson, can you solve my husband name?)

      Like

  8. well, seems like you have a lot of shining in your life my friend 🙂 😉
    BTW : in Arabic , this name is suitable for both genders .. 🙂

    Like

    • In Japanese too. I wonder parents like to use Kanji 光 for boy’s name and Hiragana ひかり for girl’s name.
      Both mean “light” and pronounce “hi-ka-ri”. Actually hiragana names seem to be gentle/warm. The writing style was made for women at nine century.

      Like

  9. I liked the combination of letters that make up the name of each one of you 🙂 we can write a story its characters will be the meaning of your names … but who will be the hero/heroine of the story ?! Glory , Beauty , Light , The beautiful girl , The pure girl , Friendship , A stroke of luck , or Knowledge !

    Like

  10. Hey what do you think my dear Dr. Watson the name of Mami husband can mean “light forever”? – 光 “light” and 久 “forever”….. Hmmm?….

    Like

    • Cough, cough….! Yes Mr. Holmes I agree I think it is “light forever” and I think “Eternal light” is more poetic if I may say 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

