Friends of IF – International Students , ESRA

Hi, IF friends. We’ll introduce Esra from Saudi Arabia to you. She is now studying in Canada and tell us about her daily life & her school days in Saudi. Enjoy Esra’s story.

1 About Esra

My name is Esra, and I’m 24 years old. I was born and raised in Saudi Arabia, specifically Dammam city which located on the Eastern side of my country. I finished my undergraduate study in Saudi Arabia, and I got a scholarship for a higher degree in Canada. Now I live in Canada, and I’m studying English as well. After I finish, I will start studying Financial Management At university of Ottawa. I don’t know a lot about Japan, but I used to watch some Japanese Drama and TV shows. As a result, I learnt a little bit about Japanese culture and some words such as “Konnichiwa” and “Arigato”. I think Japanese people are very kind. I hope that I can visit Japan in the future. My future dreams are many, but the most significant one is to work as a banker. I like to eat Kushari which is an Egyptian famous meal.  In my free time I like to read historical novels, or watch some movies.

esra_1.jpg

2 Esra’s daily life in Canada

I have been in Canada for almost two years. I live in Ottawa which is the capital. I’m studying English in the English Intensive Program (EIP) at University of Ottawa. Then, I will start studying my major. In the EIP classes, there are variety of nationalities and ages like this IF site. In fact, that makes the classes extremely exited because we learn English and discover about other culture at the same time. In the EIP program, we learn four main skills: writing, reading, listening and speaking. In every Thursday, we have a social outing which is organized by the EIP program. We visit new places in Ottawa, and we try the traditional Canadian sport such as carling. After school, I usually stay in the campus to study. Then, I back home to eat dinner and have some rest.

3 School life in Saudi Arabia

School life in Saudi Arabia is slightly different from other countries. The most significant difference is that the boys and girls study in separate school. Students go to school five days a week; our week starts on Sunday.  Schools usually start at 7:45 A.M, and Finish at 2:15 P.M. The weekly schedule includes seven classes every day; each class lasts for 45 minutes. After the third class, Students have a break for 20 minutes, then they continue the rest of the classes. Boys wear the traditional Saudi custom in school, or they wear a comfortable clothes if they have a sport activity in that day. Girls have a code-dress which its color is different. Ever level has a special color. In Every school, there are classes, a resource center, computer and science labs, a cafeteria, and a huge outdoor field. Students are not allowed to bring their cell-phones.

esra_2.jpg

esra_6

4 thoughts on “Friends of IF – International Students , ESRA

  1. Hi, Esra! If you can chance to come to your post, please say hello to IFvisitors. I’m so happy to hear about yourself more. Thans again from the bottom of my herat, Ersa.

    Like

  2. HI ! Essra i am DaDo i am at 23 years old and iam a university student too
    good for you Essra to continue your study in non-Arab country but i have a question for you
    what the differences & difficulties you face during your study abroad ?

    P.S i did not try koshari yet but it looks delicious meal 🙂

    Like

  3. Thanks Esra 🙂 I’m very happy that you love the idea of IF ❤ TS Eliot was a banker , his poems like numbers aren’t easy at all haha but of great value at the same time … hope to see you more Esra and good luck at your study ,

    Like

  4. Hey Esra … I always admire brave girls like you who are willing to catch every chance available and make the best experience of it .. wish you all the best 🙂
    as for food … you can check street food post on ifbooks 🙂 I think it is very inspiring 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

